SHASTA COLLEGE LIBRARY
Find Articles Using the Library's Online Research Databases
This service is available off campus ONLY to College staff and registered students with a Shasta College Library card.
Click on Database name when searching on campus.  The off campus link is available for home use.
New iconFind your Journal Online!
Magazines and Periodicals (EBSCOhost)
Off Campus Access
About the Database
National Newspapers (ProQuest)
Christian Science Monitor
Los Angeles Times
New York Times
Wall Street Journal
Washington Post
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Sacramento Bee
Off Campus Access
About the Database
San Francisco Chronicle
Off Campus Access
About the Database
USA Today
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Academic Universe (Lexis-Nexis®)
Off Campus Access
About the Database
New iconAccessScience
Off Campus Access
About the Database
American National Biography
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Books in Print Off Campus Access
About the Database
Britannica Online
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)
Off Campus Access
About the Database
CollegeSource Online
Not Available Off Campus
About the Database
Counting California
Off Campus Access
About the Database
CQ Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government
Off Campus Access
About the Database
CQ Researcher Off Campus Access
About the Database
CQ Weekly
Off Campus Access
About the Database
CountryWatch
Off Campus Access
About the Database
ERIC
Off Campus Access
About the Database
FACTS.com
Off Campus Access
About the Database
General Reference Center Gold (InfoTrac)
Off Campus Access
About the Database
The Grove Dictionary of Art
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Health & Wellness Resource Center (InfoTrac)
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Health Reference Center - Academic (InfoTrac)
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Literature Resource Center
Off Campus Access
About the Database
A Matter of Fact
Off Campus Access
About the Database
New iconMEDLINEplus Off Campus Access
About the Database
Oxford English Dictionary
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Scribner Writers Series
Off Campus Access
About the Database
SIRS Knowledge Source
SIRS Government Reporter®
SIRS Researcher®
Off Campus Access
About the Database
Twayne's Authors Series
Off Campus Access
About the Database

Online Research Databases On Trial
Currently, there are no trial databases available.

Can't find a database that you used to use? Perhaps it's listed among our Discontinued Databases

Need to know which online databases index which periodicals or which databases contain full text? Search Jake

Top of Page

About the Database

Magazines and Periodicals (EBSCOhost)
URL: http://search.epnet.com/login.asp (on campus), http://search.epnet.com/cpidlogin.asp?custid=s6243341 (off campus)
Years covered: 1990 - present (full text), 1984 - present (indexing and abstracts only)
Content: This database provides access to full text documents from over 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural magazines and periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 periodicals and it is updated daily.
How to Use this Resource HTML | PDF
Note: Some articles contained in this database are now available in Portable Document Format (PDF). To read PDF files you must install the Adobe® Acrobat® Reader. Information about this free application is available on the Library's Software Tools web page.

National Newspapers (ProQuest)
URL: http://www.umi.com/pqdauto (on campus), http://library.shastacollege.edu/proquestlogin.htm (off campus)
Years covered: 1986 - present
Content: National Newspapers provides full text coverage of major newspapers including the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
How to Use this Resource HTML | PDF
Note: Some articles contained in this database are now available in Portable Document Format (PDF). To read PDF files you must install the Adobe® Acrobat® Reader. Information about this application, which is available for free, is available on the Library's Software Tools web page.

Sacramento Bee
URL: http://infoweb.newsbank.com/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1985 - present
Content: Online access to full text articles in the Sacramento Bee.

San Francisco Chronicle
URL: http://infoweb.newsbank.com/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1999 - present
Content: Online access to full text articles in the San Francisco Chronicle.

USA Today
URL: http://infoweb.newsbank.com/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1988 - present
Content: Online access to full text articles in USA Today.

Top of Page

Academic Universe (Lexis-Nexis®)
URL: http://www.lexis-nexis.com/universe (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years Covered: N/A
Content: This database provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

AccessScience: The Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
URL: http://www.accessscience.com/server-java/Arknoid/science/AS
Years covered:
Content: AccessScience turns the 8th edition of The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology into an updated database that delivers relevant, current, and practical information.  It includes: recent research developments, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, links to related web sites, learning resources and study guides.

American National Biography
URL: http://www.anb.org/articles/index.html (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: This database includes a powerful custom search of biographies, written by distinguished scholars and writers, of more than 18,000 Americans who died prior to 1996.  In addition, nearly 2,000 illustrations from the Library of Congress are included.

Books in Print
URL: http://www.booksinprint.com/bip/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: This resource lists over 1.2 million available books covering all subject areas. Each month approximately 11,000 new records are added and 110,000 entries are revised and updated. Also included are Books Out of Print and Publisher's Directory 1999-2000.

Britannica Online
URL: http://search.eb.com/(on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: The electronic version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.

Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)
URL: http://www.umi.com/pqdauto (on campus), http://library.shastacollege.edu/proquestlogin.htm (off campus)
Years covered: 1986 - present
Content: This source contains information from periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum.
Note: Some articles contained in this database are now available in Portable Document Format (PDF). To read PDF files you must install the Adobe® Acrobat® Reader. Information about this application, which is available for free, is available on the Library's Software Tools web page.

CollegeSource Online
URL: http://www.collegesource.org/home.asp (available on campus only)
Years covered: N/A
Content: This database features over 19,000 college catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page format including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools. This resource also contains links to information about career planning, assessment testing, and financial aid.

Top of Page

Counting California
URL: http://countingcalifornia.cdlib.org/ (on campus), http://countingcalifornia.cdlib.org/ (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: This database is designed to enhance California citizens' access to the growing range of social science and economic data produced by government agencies.
Note: Some articles contained in this database are now available in Portable Document Format (PDF). To read PDF files you must install the Adobe® Acrobat® Reader. Information about this application, which is available for free, is available on the Library's Software Tools web page.

CQ Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government
URL: http://library.cqpress.com/eeag (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1991 - present
Content: Presented as the nation's definitive source for information on U.S. government, politics, and elections, it is designed for use by students, political activists, government employees  and interested citizens.  It contains over twelve hundred articles and more than six hundred illustrations and provides the who, what, when and how of every era of American history.

CQ Researcher
URL: http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1992 - present
Content: This source covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Users may browse through articles in the current issue or search for past articles using words, dates or other criteria.
Note: Some articles contained in this database are now available in Portable Document Format (PDF). To read PDF files you must install the Adobe® Acrobat® Reader. Information about this application, which is available for free, is available on the Library's Software Tools web page.

CQ Weekly
URL: http://library.cqpress.com/cqweekly (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1983 - present
Content: This resource contains information and analysis about current government legislation and happenings with the federal government.

CountryWatch
URL: http://www.countrywatch.com/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years Covered: N/A
Content: This resource contains political, economic, and business information for over 190 countries including detailed geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental briefings. In addition, worldwide news and information updates via United Press International are provided.

ERIC
URL: http://ericir.syr.edu/Eric/
Years covered: 1966 - present
Content: The worlds largest source of education information, this database contains more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Note: This database does not provide access to full text documents. However, materials that are not located in the Shasta College Library collection can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Top of Page

FACTS.com
URL: http://www.2facts.com/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048(off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: Seven core reference databases (including Facts On File World News Digest) containing information about current events and issues, statistics, and people.

General Reference Center Gold (InfoTrac)
URL: http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/locpac_scol (on campus), http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/will19116rpa (off campus)
Years covered: 1980 - present
Content: Find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

The Grove Dictionary of Art
URL: http://www.groveart.com/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: This resource contains over 45,000 articles and thousands of images covering every aspect of the visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study.

Top of Page

Health & Wellness Resource Center (InfoTrac)
URL: http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/HWRC?q=locpac_scol (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1997 - present
Content: Your one-stop source for health research, this database delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text periodicals and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. In addition, this resource includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine and links to pertinent websites.

Health Reference Center - Academic (InfoTrac)
URL: http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/redd17662 (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1980 - present
Content: This database provides access to full text documents from more than 160 health-related periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets as well as indexing from over 225 other health information sources such as consumer health publications, newsletters, and newspaper articles. In addition, there is selective indexing for articles from more than 1,500 general interest titles.
Note: Some articles contained in this database are now available in Portable Document Format (PDF). To read PDF files you must install the Adobe® Acrobat® Reader. Information about this application, which is available for free, is available on the Library's Software Tools web page.

Literature Resource Center
URL: http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitRC/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: Covering more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers this resource
provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.

A Matter of Fact
URL: http://www.pierianpress.net/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: 1984 - present
Content: This database contains full-text statistical statements on current social, economic, political, health, and environmental public policy issues from more than 1,000 print sources as well as a wide range of web resources, to which the entries are linked.

Top of Page

MEDLINEplusNew icon
URL: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
Years covered: 1966 - present
Content: Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this database covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Features over 500 health topics with links to evaluated health information, interactive tutorials, and a medical encyclopedia.  Includes drug information, dictionaries, directories, and current health news from the past 30 days. The file contains over 11 million records including bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Note: This database does not provide access to full text documents. However, materials that are not located in the Shasta College Library collection can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Oxford English Dictionary
URL: http://dictionary.oed.com/entrance.dtl(on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048(off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: The electronic version of the Oxford English Dictionary.

Scribner Writers Series
URL: http://www.galenet.com/servlet/Scribner/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: Containing nearly 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres, this standard resource for literary criticism is designed for students, teachers, scholars, and the general public.

SIRS Knowledge Source
URL: http://sks.sirs.com/ (on campus), http://sks.sirs.com/HomeAccess.asp?CA6428 (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: This resource provides access to SIRS Government Reporter®, a database containing access to documents and graphics from agencies, departments, and commissions of the U.S. Government, and SIRS Researcher®, an information source that provides access to thousands of full-text documents from nearly 1,500 newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications. Additional content databases included are: Campaign 2000, Congressional Members Directory, Directory of Publications, Federal Agency Directory, Historic Documents, Maps of the World, National Archives Documents, Spotlight of the Month, Today's News, U.S. Justices Directory, U.S. Presidents Directory, U.S. Supreme Court Decisions, and World Almanac Excerpts.

Twayne's Authors Series
URL: http://www.galenet.com/servlet/Twayne/ (on campus), http://kingpin.shastacollege.edu:2048 (off campus)
Years covered: N/A
Content: Primarily devoted to critical interpretation and discussion of authors' works, this database offers criticism by scholars on hundreds of years of literature. In addition, it provides critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

Top of Page


Shasta College Library - Online Research Databases
URL: http://library.shastacollege.edu/databases.htm
This page last updated: 05/06/02
Electronic Mail: webmaster@library.shastacollege.edu

Back to Library Home